Organized Chaos

Life as an Associate Pastor's wife: community, family and God

Thanks-GIVING December 1, 2010

Filed under: Holidays,Inspiration,Ministry — Jessi @ 3:59 pm
Tags:

I know it’s a little late for a Thanksgiving post, but I can’t stop replaying my day over in my mind. Bill and I did something a little different for Thanksgiving this year. We volunteered at our local mission by serving Thanksgiving meals and groceries to the less fortunate in our small community of Bluefield, West Virginia.

I met so many volunteers who willing gave up a portion of their day to serve others! One volunteer in particular Glen Carlyle made a huge impression on me. I met Glen while bagging groceries, and we had the typical introductions… How are you? What’s your name? Yada, yada, yada… Where are you from? Glen, “Alabama.” Me, “What, wow!” This man drove all the way from Alabama to West Virginia just to serve his “neighbors”. That’s just amazing to me!

While most of the volunteers stayed inside on the grocery packing assembly line, I had the opportunity to help recipients carry their items to their vehicles or for some up the street to their homes. It may not be the most glamorous job, but it’s right up my alley. Forming relationships and interacting one-on-one are my middle name! My cup was full of joy all day, but it was also full of sadness. How it can be both at the same time I can’t explain, but my heart just broke knowing that this may be the only meal some families will eat all week. I wanted to do more, give more, but all I could do was carry their groceries, listen to their stories and share kind words with them.

We served an amazing 700 people! We gave them food. They gave me a bigger heart for ministry!

 

Leave a Reply

