Organized Chaos

Life as an Associate Pastor's wife: community, family and God

Race Day! May 25, 2009

Filed under: Me — Jessi @ 4:15 pm
Looking fearless before the start of the 5K (wish I could say the same for the finish)

Looking fearless before the start of the 5K (wish I could say the same for the finish)

Pausing for a moment of prayer before the race

Pausing for a moment of prayer before the race

Chillin in the shade after the race

Chillin in the shade after the race

The guy on the left won the race. He made it in15 minutes. He could've made it around 2.5X and still have beat me!

The guy on the left won the race. He made it in15 minutes. He could've made it around 2.5X and still have beat me!

The Wade Center hosted a 5K race on Saturday, and Billy and I got the bright idea that we would “Just Do It”! Let me tell ya, I was so pumped. I got up early, ate a nice light breakfast, did some yoga for runners, drank lots of water, and even had a power bar before the start of the race. The time had come for us to line up at the Start Line. I had my iPod fully loaded with jams to get me through the race and everything. The official gave us the GO. Off we went (FULL speed) with the front of the pack. I felt great… that was until we got like 5 minutes into it. I ran out of steam so quickly that I ended up doing a jog/walk for most of the race. It was the most intense up and down hill course. Not to mention, my body wasn’t prepared for the early morning 80 degree temps. It was BRUTAL. I know I know… I’m a big weenie, but if you’re not used to this kind of running, then you know what I mean. It was a great learning and humbling experience for me. The winner of the race made it in 15 minutes. He could’ve made it through the course 2.5X by the time I made it around once. Oh, and I didn’t mention that some guy that was pushing a baby stroller beat me (How embarrassing)! I knew I wouldn’t be the best, but I wanted to challenge myself to do something that I had never done before. About 100 people participated in the race, and the proceeds benefit the Wade Center! Preparations are already being made for next year’s race… I may have to be a water girl next year, but ya never know with some better training I may come in 63rd instead of 64th… HAAHAAAHAAA

 

Leave a Reply

