Organized Chaos

Life as an Associate Pastor's wife: community, family and God

Who’s Your Hero? February 22, 2009

Filed under: Family,Inspiration — Jessi @ 8:01 pm

img_3732Today, I want to share with you one of my heroes (my daddy). He’s the most humble man I think I know. He has the hands of a hard working man (I should know I got a few whoopings back in the day), but he has a smile and hug that will melt your heart. Growing up, he always looked out for me and my siblings’ best interests, even though it didn’t always feel like it sometimes. When we had little, my parents sacrificed so that us kids could have plenty. They encouraged me each step of the way. They have made me into the woman I am today (good or bad depending on who you ask! j/k). I am thankful for the Christian values that they have instilled in me.

0301One thing that I love about my dad is that he lets me give him a hard time. I think my mom once said that we have a love/hate relationship (more love than hate), but I still pick on him and he picks on me (We both can dish it out pretty good). I’m his Half Pint, and he’s my Paw. For those of you who were deprived, that’s a Little House on the Prairie reference. Anway, I just enjoy laughing with him and getting his bear hugs. I still sit on his knee every once in a while, and I’m pretty sure he could still turn me over his knee and give me a whooping if I ever needed it (Don’t tell Billy b/c he’d be putting in requests!).

daddy-jessikerThis past year my dad was diagnosed with colon cancer. It’s been tough, but I’ve seen him and my mom stay strong. Their strength and faith have held our family together. I mean, there are days when I just know that my dad has little energy and doesn’t feel like doing very much, but he still stays positive and manages to muster a smile. He recently finished his chemo treatments, and now he goes for monthly checkups to make sure the cancer doesn’t flare up again. I pray everyday that his cancer is gone for good. It’s a terrible disease that no one should have to suffer with, but I believe God has used this for His glory and our good. I have seen my family grow closer through all of this, and it has really made me learn to think about others more (still a work in progress).

I haven’t always been the most well behaved daughter, but he never gave up on me or stopped showing that he cared/loved. I love this man (my daddy), and I am proud to be his daughter!

 

2 Responses to “Who’s Your Hero?”

  1. Chris Says:

    It’s great to know that even though we can’t see it sometimes God always works things out for our own good!

    • Jessica Says:

      Thanks for the comment. You are so right. I look back and see how God has changed my life in so many ways and continues to do so each and every day. I’m not always faithful to Him, but He is always faithful and always will be!


Leave a Reply

