Organized Chaos

Life as an Associate Pastor's wife: community, family and God

Contemplation # 7 January 29, 2009

Filed under: Midnight Reflections — Jessi @ 10:49 am

I’m sitting at my desk as usual when I hear, “Ah ha, I found what I’m looking for.” Wondering what all the commotion was about I looked to see my coworker holding a pink eraser in her hand like she had just won a gold medal. That got me to thinking… Do children even still know what an eraser is? With our world being so technologically advanced I can’t help but think how primitive an eraser seems. I looked up at my coworker and grinned, all the while thinking, “Man I haven’t used one of those in forever.” Then I realized just how small the world is becoming. It used to be that if we ever needed to contact someone we would phone them or write them a letter, which may take a week or more to get there, but with new technology like the iPhone, Macs, digital cameras, email, facebook, blogs, etc. we can send and receive data in a matter of seconds from pretty much anywhere in the world. It’s pretty amazing if you think about it, but it’s also pretty scary at times to think that our personal information is out there for the whole world to see. Now a days everything is stored on the computer in some form or fashion, and even though we may say delete it’s not as simple as using an eraser and poof the words magically disappear. I’m sure there’s ways of retrieving that deleted data if the right person gets a hold of it.

Where is this leading… With all this technology that allows us to interact with the world, what is the message that we are sending to others? Billy and I have been watching this show called True Beauty, and it’s about all these people that are competing to become the Most Beautiful Person. What they don’t know is that they are being watched on hidden cameras by the judges to not only rate them on their outer beauty, but also their inner beauty. Once a contestant gets voted out they find out what the show is all about.  That really made me change my perspective. Any random person passing by can capture your actions with one simple click on their phone, and in that instant your face is out there for the whole world to see. Are your actions being captured in a way that bring glory and honor to God, or do you need to take a long hard look in the mirror? I think we all need a refresher once in a while.

 

Leave a Reply

