Organized Chaos

Life as an Associate Pastor's wife: community, family and God

Really? = Contemplation # 5 January 14, 2009

Filed under: Midnight Reflections — Jessi @ 12:45 pm

It’s sweeping the nation. It’s that time again when the worst/best singers, drama queens, psychos, etc. crawl from the woodwork. Yup, you guessed it. It’s American Idol season 8.  As I watch all the different people stand in front of the judges to show off their “talent” I can’t help but wonder why a lot of these people’s friends and family haven’t let them in on the secret… that they can’t sing! I’m like, do they listen back to themselves to hear what they actually sound like?! I love the show, but sometimes it just makes me go, “Really?” I mean I don’t think I’m the best or worst singer in the world, but I can count on my friends and family to be truthful with me about whether I sound terrible and am making a fool of myself. I think that’s what someone who loves you would do, but apparently someone didn’t get the memo. It’s just funny the lengths people go to have their shot at stardom.

On the flip side, AI has given a select few their break into the music biz. People who would’ve probably never been discovered had it not been for AI have recorded hit songs and records. AI really is a showcase of all sorts of different talents, good and bad, and it has made it possible for someone as plain as me to have a shot as being a star.

You may not be destined to be the next American Idol, but whatever your talents are use them to the best of your ability. God has given each one of us a set of talents and gifts that are unique to our makeup. Don’t try to force yourself to be someone that you’re not designed to be. You know what you’re good at and have a passion for, and if not then have someone that you can count on to tell you the truth help you list your strengths and weaknesses.

 

2 Responses to “Really? = Contemplation # 5”

  1. Jessica,
    A good friend of mine is actually competing in American Idol Season 8.
    Her name is Felicia Barton and I have known her since she was 5 or 6 years old.
    She is from Va Beach and sings lead on the praise and worship at her dad’s church.

    Like the blog.


Leave a Reply

