Organized Chaos

Life as an Associate Pastor's wife: community, family and God

Will Your Resolution Be Resolute? January 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessi @ 1:09 pm

Yesterday was New Year’s. A time to start fresh, celebrate with friends and family, and make those big commitments called New Year’s resolutions. I was in this program in high school, and one of the activities was to make a list of short term and long term goals with each having sub-goals that we would like to accomplish, and then at the end of the year we would assess them and see how far we had come along. Everyone dreaded the two days out of the year that we had to sit down and map out our future. I always had such a hard time figuring out what sort of goals I wanted to achieve. Of course there were the goals like graduate top ten in my class, go to college, have a family, but I never really made any goals that made me step out of my comfort zone. When I look back, maybe one of the reasons I never stepped out of the box was because I didn’t want to set myself up for failure, but I can look back and see how writing out my goals has shaped me into who I am today. I haven’t accomplished all the goals I wrote down on that list, but I have accomplished a lot of them. It’s an ongoing process, and breaking your goals down into smaller  steps will help you better achieve your main goals. So I say don’t just limit a resolution to be made once a year on New Year’s, but take time every couple months to update your goals, dreams, resolutions, etc. Don’t get discouraged if you get off track. There’s always room to improve and dream. Dreaming allows you to move forward.

Some of My Goals:

1. Have a small interior design business

2. Have a 5 minute personal devotional at least 5X a week

3. Sing in public

4. Travel the world (Hawaii, Australia, London, San Antonio, Cali, Japan, New York City, Italy, Brazil…)

5. Makeover my kitchen and bathroom

6. Learn how to snowboard

7. Read 3 books in a year

8. Cook at least 2X a week

9. Smile more

10. Not take myself so seriously

11. Run a 5K

12. Run a marathon.

13. Design contemporary furniture

What are your goals?

 

2 Responses to “Will Your Resolution Be Resolute?”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Hey! I liked your resolutions. I was pleased to see that one of your goals is to cook dinner 2 times a week. It’s something to strive for ;).

    • Jessica Says:

      Thanks for checking out my blog. I love cooking, but it’s always so hard for me to organize a nice dinner with work and everything. Billy does a lot of the cooking. We normally always have dinner as a family even though it may just be takeout or something like that.


Leave a Reply

