Organized Chaos

Life as an Associate Pastor's wife: community, family and God

My Office Party = Contemplation # 3 December 8, 2008

Filed under: Holidays,Me,Midnight Reflections — Jessi @ 2:49 pm

This weekend was my work’s Christmas party. This is my second Christmas with True Line, but if there’s one thing that I’ve learned about the boss and his family is that they are very generous. Our party was at the Mayflower, a seafood restaurant, and we could order anything off the menu that we wanted. Not only was the meal paid for, every child got a Christmas present (toys or gift certificates) and every adult got a little something (women got the bags shown above and men got Swiss army knives). This is just one incident of why I am thankful for the job that God has provided for me. Billy and I have been blessed. I may not be doing what I went to college for or what I desire to do, but I’m trying to see the significance in why I have been placed here. Maybe it’s to show my synical co-workers that marriage is not a big flop, that there’s more to life than just work, or that living your life for God does not mean boredom and irrelevance. My desire is to please God and show Him to others, and I think He’s allowing me to do that where I am now. That doesn’t mean I don’t dream of doing other things. I like Louie’s analogy: ‘every life is like a boat with a sail and our job in life is only to hold up the sail… not be the wind. He said that Jesus taught us that the wind blows where it wants and that we don’t know where it comes from or where it is going. He said that there is nothing worse than doing life or ministry by rowing. The problem with rowing is that we might be going at it hard and fast at 66 degrees North, but the wind is blowing 19 degrees South and that is how most of us live and so it shouldn’t be surprising that we are tired… and lost.’ So if the wind pushes we will go, but if it’s still we will be too.

 

One Response to “My Office Party = Contemplation # 3”

  1. Aunt Sharon Says:

    This gave me new insite to “my own life “.Hope you don’t mind if i quote you sometime,


Leave a Reply

