Organized Chaos

Life as an Associate Pastor's wife: community, family and God

Contemplation #1 November 21, 2008

Filed under: Midnight Reflections — Jessi @ 5:12 am

Do you ever feel like you’re destined for greatness, but there’s just one problem (YOURSELF)? My whole life I’ve felt like I’ve been meant to be and do so much more. I grew up in a “Hick Town”, but I always knew that I wanted to break away from the country girl stereotype. Don’t get me wrong, I love the country, but there’s something that just tugs at my heart strings when I think about traveling the world, designing, singing, etc. For me the hardest part about dreaming and wanting to do all these things is MYSELF. I set such high standards as to how I view myself and how I think others will view me that it often depletes my motivation. I feel like I should be doing so much more, but I end up not even trying because I worry about failure. I don’t want to set myself and others up for disappointment. I think that’s where a lot of us get it wrong. We, myself included, complain about our circumstances, but don’t do anything about it. We just keep complaining and feeling sorry for ourselves. I think it’s easy for us to get down on ourselves and expect more from ourselves than others do, but we have to realize that we’re not meant to be perfect. That’s God’s job. Don’t let “your fear here” hold you back from the person that God designed you to be. Key word “fear“. Worrying about tomorrow only ages us and gets us nowhere.

Matthew 26-28 (NIV):

26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

28“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.

 

Leave a Reply

